The Villainess Wants to Marry a Commoner!! Volume 2 Chapter 4

Previous Chapter

Buy the book here to support the author and for the gorgeous illustrations.


Paul rushed to the suffering kidnappers after watching Isabella chase after the carriage.

Marcus and Muhaimen were watching after Isabella from a distance so they were probably rushing to follow her.

Now then, the men in front of him were suffering from a silencing curse, but the information they held could be a valuable clue.

Paul judged that letting them die here would be troubling, so he took out the curse resistance bracelets he had just in case and equipped them to the arms of the men. The curse was already in effect so he didn’t know how effective it would be, but he wanted to buy enough time for one of his comrades to come and remove the curse.

When Paul moved them to the corner of the back alley, Ursch appeared with three women whose eyes were covered with transparent cloth.

Paul bowed his head to Ursch.

“I am so sorry, Young Master. I let Miss Isabella-sama go.”

“Ah~, I expected that so it’s okay.”

Paul tilted his head at Ursch’s words.

It was his strategy to let the suspicious men who might have a connection with the shamans or the Viscount run free after the sting operation was laid bare. The Schneiver Company employees were planning on tailing them.

Paul didn’t know why exactly Isabella chased after them herself.

“……Young Master Ursch. Did you tell Miss Isabella-sama about the plan?”

“I didn’t tell her because Isabella was so excited to be kidnapped. Even if it’s for the investigation, I’m against her getting kidnapped, so her boldly chasing after them is the better option.”

In that case, don’t allow her to conduct a sting operation in the first place, thought Paul while sighing.

“It would also be dangerous to chase after them.”

“Her causing a huge rampage is preferable to her being forced to stay quiet in a closed carriage~. This also serves as a distraction. And, isn’t it better for more people to learn how dangerous Isabella can be so less idiots will try anything? You see.” Ursch said and pointed to the suffering men on the ground as a signal to the three women standing alert behind him.

They moved stealthily without a sound and crouched down, staring at the men. Paul asked Ursch a question while observing them from the corner of his eye.

“On the contrary, wouldn’t you be unable to keep an eye on her?”

“Isabella is more or less a relative to the royal family and the daughter of the excessively powerful Rottenstein family, so I think it would be a problem to cut her off. Because I’m her fiancée, I can have the Schneiver Company keep an eye on her.” Ursch said with an ominous smile.

Young Master Ursch, stop this idiocy of throwing the Schneiver Company into things, thought Paul with a faraway look.

“Now then, the curse didn’t spread through their whole body because of your wit, so this all came to an end sooner than expected. I think other aid should come soon, so grab those men.”

Ursch pointed to the quiet unconscious men at the feet of the always silent women, gave them instructions, and walked out with Paul. The three women silently followed Ursch.

“Be careful, Young Master Ursch.”

Ursch responded without turning around.

“Yep. I’ll be careful~.”


“Shit!! This little girl!! Get off of here!!”

I was zigzagging on top of the rushing carriage while avoiding whip strikes from the military police officer in the coachman seat.

Mwahaha, compared to the speed and power of Ursch-kun’s whips, this attack was nothing!!

Before I could reach my goal, I was revealed by the surrounding people looking up at the carriage.

Thinking about it, of course people would yell and point if they saw a child sticking to the top of a carriage. I should have used my presence obfustication or tried imitating Chris-sama’s optical camouflage to make myself disappear. But none of those ideas came to me while I was chasing them.

It can’t be helped, I was planning on having them guide me to their base, but it looks like I’ll just have to capture them here. I’ll take them back and Ursch-kun can get them talking afterwards.

While flying around avoiding whip strikes on the top of the recklessly driven carriage, I adjusted my strength by hitting the four corners of the roof with my palms. This carriage is pretty fragile~.

The carriage might shatter if I hit it with my fist, so I should lightly hit it so as not to break too much. Finally, I jumped up and elbowed the roof with a body strike, invading the inside of the carriage from the shattered roof.

After I fell in the carriage with the shattered roof, the two military police officers in the carriage wore stiff, astonished expressions.

I kicked the carriage door open while they were dazed. I grabbed one from his shirt where he was sitting and tossed him out of the moving carriage. The officer wasn’t tied up, but he hit the stone pavement hard. His shoulder bone and some ribs probably broke.

I turned back to the remaining military police officer that quickly drew his sword and slashed down towards me. There was no roof, so the carriage had a feeling of openness, but swinging a sword around a narrow carriage was a bad move, mister.

As a small child, I was able to lightly avoid the slash from his sword.

The sword I dodged lodged into the seat and I took that opportunity to kick the officer to the side of the back seat.

The officer fell unconscious after letting out a voice like a crushed frog and I kicked off of the carriage floor and somersaulted to the coachment seat.

Huh? The officer that was trying to whip me from the coachman’s seat from before wasn’t there. I quickly looked at the horses to see the officer jump on one, straddle it, and start to disconnect it from the carriage.

It’s too hard to reach out now, so I waited for him to disconnect.

Once he successfully disconnected the harness, the carriage crashed to the ground, some parts getting crushed as it came to a stop.

The officer turned towards the carriage he left behind with a triumphant smile and I placed my hand on the ground in response.

I’ve been brute forcing everything until now so I’ve never had the opportunity to use it, but guess who’s been studying magic? Me.

Plus, through my cheat 《Envy》 skill and the teaching of the wonderfully versatile Ursch-kun, I had nearly all the magical attributes.

You’ll be on the receiving end of the Isabella Original tracking bombing magic “Underground Lightning.”

Explosions roared underground, with dirt blasting up from underneath the stone pavement, and my “Underground Lightning” chased after the officer on the horse. The “Underground Lightning” crushed the stone pavement while chasing him and caught up in no time, throwing the man and horse high into the air. It went silent as soon as its job was done.

I watched as the military police officer in the air and the horse slammed into the stone pavement.

I made sure they didn’t die by applying a shield to the horse and enough strengthening magic to the officer so he didn’t die. I wouldn’t forget this kind of womanly detailed care. As intended, the horse was unharmed. The officer was unconscious and I applauded my good work.

But over 500 meters of stone pavement got destroyed. Moreover, the sun was setting and the dirt and smoke made visibility poor.

It takes more time to fix than smash, so I really shouldn’t use this that much. Magic, that is.

My magic was so strong that any fireballs I would try to use would have a diameter of about 500 meters and create a glassy crater…… I shouldn’t use something I’m not good at, so in the end, I’m back to just brute forcing everything.

Ahh, my feminine power isn’t breathing.

In any case, I should repair the stone pavement before some military police and guards hear about this fuss, so I put on the “Clear Vision Goggles” and rolled up my sleeves.


After I finished repairing the stone pavement and Muhaimen-san and Marcus-san caught up to me and restrained the three officers, Paul-san ran up to me.

“I’m sorry, Paul-san. They noticed partway through so I couldn’t make it to their base.”

“No!! Nevermind that!! Please listen, Isabella-chan!! Something serious happened!!”

Paul-san looked to be in a rush as he kneeled down to my eye level, grabbed my shoulders, and looked me straight in the eyes.

“The church where the kidnapping victims were being protected got raided by someone!! Right now they’re checking for missing persons!! Young Master Ursch is waiting, so please follow me!!”

Hm? Something doesn’t feel right. ……Did this Paul-san just say “Isabella-chan”?

Has Paul-san always referred to me so casually?

I observed the Paul-san in front of me. He was wearing the disguise of a beautiful, blue-haired woman…… In disguise…… Who is this? Active 《The Greed King》.

……Hey. What are you doing here?

“Um~. ……What are you doing? Lucy-oneesama……”

“What do you mean, Isabella-chan?”

““……””

A strange silence settled between us.

Through my appraisal, I learned that the one in front of me was a “woman wearing the disguise of Paul-san wearing the disguise of a beautiful blue-haired woman”, that is, Lucy-oneesama.

She was the daughter of the Head of the Magician’s Order in Rosereale Kingdom and Gijs’s older sister. And she’s the fiancée of my eldest brother, Trevor, and the future duchess of the Rottenstein family.

“Lucy-oneesama!! You should be in the middle of wedding preparations, so just what are you doing!?”

Lucy-oneesama hurriedly held her index fingers to her lips at my shout.

“Isabella-chan!! Shhhh!! Shhhhh!!”

“I’m not gonna ‘Shhhhh’!! Every year, every year you vaguely say that your schedule is not good and avoid the wedding, but my other brother, Daemon-oniisama, says that he won’t marry until his brother does so he still lives at home!! I want that demon to hurry and leave!! Stop sneaking around and please prioritize your marriage preparations!! I’m begging you!!”

I was shaking her with teary eyes and my sister-in-law desperately tried to soothe me.

“Calm down!! Calm down!! We can talk about that some other day! For the time being, I’m not supposed to be here!! Don’t use my name!! In any case, I want you to follow me!! This is not the place for this!!”

Right. The church was raided. The information was blown from my head with the double shock of fake Paul-san’s true identity being Lucy-oneesama.

But this is the first I’ve heard about Lucy-oneesama and Ursch-kun working together. I wondered how far Ursch-kun’s personal connections reached. I had a feeling his connections were too wide for me to accurately grasp.

I left the captured military police officers to Marcus-san and the rest and followed Lucy-oneesama.


“Long time no see, Chris-sama. Looks like Miss Amaryllis is here today too. How are you?”

Chris-sama called for me so I headed to the royal palace after splitting off from Paul.

A palace servant guided me to the library where Chris-sama was drinking tea together with Miss Amaryllis. Weren’t food and drinks usually prohibited in the library……?

“……Hey. It’s been awhile, Ursch…… Sorry for calling you suddenly……”

“Fwaah~. Long time no see, Ursch-kun!! I’m well!! Ah, speaking of, you refer to Chris-sama casually. No fair…… Please call me ‘Allis’ like Bella-chan does!!”

Chris-sama had the same lethargic greeting as always and Miss Amaryllis was shaking her upper body restlessly while listening and requested I refer to her casually.

Although, rather than Miss Amaryllis, I wanted to refer to Isabella more casually.

I was a little frustrated that Miss Amaryllis got permission to call Isabella “Bella” before I did. Although I didn’t let it show on my face.

“Um~…… Allis-sama then. Anyways, you two seem to have gotten really close,” I said, and Allis-sama laughed in embarrassment. Surprisingly, Chris-sama also smiled slightly. Apparently things were going well between them. Isabella would be happy to see it.

Chris-sama’s 《Lucifer: The Prideful King’s Ears》 evolved into 《The Pride King》 at the small mountain lodge, and he could communicate properly during the day by shutting off the always active status without needing skill sealing items. Chris-sama’s mental state also seems to be recovering more and more with each day.

And after he returned to the royal palace, it seems like there’s been possible talks about his engagement with Allis-sama.

As long as it’s not Isabella, it doesn’t matter to me who the prince gets engaged with, but Isabella was hoping those two would get engaged so she’ll be happy.

“Oh right, is Bella-chan not coming today? I wanted to see her after so long so that’s too bad……”

“Isabella is chasing after the carriage of some possible kidnappers so we didn’t come together. I’ll ask some collaborators to guide me to her when I go back, but she won’t be coming here.”

Most likely, Isabella won’t make it to their hideout, the carriage will tip over, and she’ll prioritize capturing the kidnappers. But wouldn’t that be the quickest way for us to meet back up?

“By the way, it seems like you’ve been receiving training from the queen, Chris-sama. How is it? The adventurer-style training.”

“……Yeah. ……I may die from this training, so I’ve been writing a will every other week……”

“…………”

Well, it seems like he’s been working harder than at the small mountain lodge.

“Fueeh…… I’ve also been writing one……”

“Ahh, speaking of, you also have been accepting training from the queen between your home education, Allis-sama.”

“That’s right. She makes me practice tiny explosions thousands of times until I feel like I’m going to die. But if I don’t practice, when I go into the dungeon next year, I can’t use explosions. ……Because it would bury me alive.”

It’s already been decided that she’s going to get thrown into the dungeon next year. Do your best, Allis-sama.

And, please do your best to train Allis-sama, Queen. For the safety of the town and dungeon.

“Oh right, Chris-sama. Could the reason that you suddenly called me here be that you were able to find the kidnapper’s collaborator in the royal palace?”

I asked Chris-sama to secretly look into any collaborators of the shaman organization or the Viscount within the royal palace.

Gijs was kidnapped from the greenhouse of the royal palace. And, the actual kidnapper was a woman who, after some investigation, was revealed that she didn’t belong to any department in the royal palace. But that woman was wearing a palace maid uniform. So there definitely should be some collaborator in the palace.

Chris-sama lightly nodded in response to my question.

“……I’m bad at talking, so…… I wasn’t able to speak with anyone…… But I’ve only been able to detect bad feelings in the royal palace……”

It seems like Chris-sama used his evolved 《Pride King》 skill.

His 《Pride King》 skill had a variety of abilities like being able to see from a distance, being able to hear the most silent of noises, mind reading, emotional detection, and being able to read the emotional remnants in an area.

You couldn’t play card games with Chris-sama since he had those abilities. He would surely find out what you had in your hand.

Hm~. I can’t look into it now, but considering the abilities of his 《Pride King》 skill, I may be able to find other abilities if I tried using precision appraisal, absolute appraisal and detection.

While I was thinking, Chris-sama slowly continued to speak, “……So then after following the bad feelings, I repeatedly read the thoughts in the area…… The church where the kidnapped victims are being protected…… I learned that they have plans to raid there and grab them……”

“You got some dreadful information…… Did you tell other people about this plan?”

“……The Head Knight is completely straightforward and righteous so I trusted him with the information so he could move to prevent the raid……”

Because of their level difference, Chris-sama couldn’t read the mind of the Head Knight. But one could read emotions regardless of level. For those curious, one can read someone’s emotions like a sign or an aura.

“But, just the Head Knight? What about the Head of the Magician’s Order? Did you feel like you couldn’t trust him?”

“……No…… The Head of the Magician’s Order is…… a weirdo but he can be trusted, but……”

While Chris-sama spoke, his eyes kept wandering around.

Allis-sama also didn’t ask about the details and just mysteriously tilted her head while waiting for Chris-sama to continue.

After thinking for a while, he steeled himself and started speaking slowly, “I know that…… Gijs’s kidnapper’s collaborator…… is in the Magician’s Order…… So I can’t tell the Head……”

“Ahh~. Well that can’t be helped. If the Head of the Magician’s Order were to give orders or instructions to his subordinates, then there’s a chance the information could leak.”

“Hoeeeeh~. The Magician’s Order has a research lab and training ground in the royal palace. If there are bad guy collaborators there, then it would be easy for them to break into the royal palace. ……Fuehh…… That’s actually very scary now that I think about it.”

Chris-sama patted the pale Allis-sama’s head calmly while he resumed speaking with a hard expression, “……There’s that too, but…… That collaborator is…… the daughter of the Head of the Magician’s Order. ……So…… I can’t say anything……”

“Huh? The daughter of the Head of the Magician’s Order? ……His daughter…… You’re sure she’s the one?”

“……Yes. ……Gijs’s older sister Lucy…… The daughter of the Head of the Magician’s Order who knew she was selling her own little brother to the shamans…… He would surely be sad, so…… I just couldn’t tell him……”


The Torrend house stands out for their excellence in magic in the Kingdom of Rosereale which focuses on training magicians. A family line that has produced many court magicians and leaders of the Magician’s Order in the past.

I always thought I was going to take over that Torrend house.

I was the only child of the current head of the Torrend house and was educated to think a man would marry into our family and help me develop and continue our line.

That was my desire and pride.

That was until that child, Gijs, was born seven years ago.

Until the time came that I had to prepare to attend the Magic Academy, I was blessed by the surrounding expectations of being the next head of the Torrend house.

But half a year before I entered the school, we found out that Mother was pregnant even though she was told she couldn’t have another child. The people who used to treat me like the next head began to rejoice saying, “If it’s a boy, then we’ll finally have the long-awaited next head!”

Finally? The long-awaited next head? Then what about me?

I was treated as the next head until now, but they really never thought of me that way.

Until then, I thought that I would be worthy as the next head even though I was a woman as long as I put the effort in, but what was the point? If a boy is born, am I obsolete?

The only one who noticed my suffering, anxiety, and inability to congratulate this pregnancy and who comforted me was my pregnant mother. Mother didn’t scold me for not being obediently pleased about the birth of a little brother or sister.

“Lucy, whether you become the next head or follow a different path in the future, you are my pride. You will always be my precious daughter and the amazingly talented daughter of your father, the current Head of Rosereale Kingdom’s Magician’s Order. Even if your position changes, that alone will never change your value.”

During the spring of my fifteenth year, soon after I started attending the Magic Academy, my mother who comforted me lost her life in exchange for giving birth to my little brother Gijs.

I rushed back to the mansion after hearing the news. There were relatives and others celebrating the birth of a baby boy and in an inner, quiet room of the mansion, my mother’s corpse was lying alone as if in sleep.

I will never forget that in my life.

The day that I clung to my mother’s cold body crying alone in that dim room while I could hear the joyous shouts of celebration from far away.

Joyous shouts celebrating the birth of my little brother Gijs, who stole my place as the next head and my mother from me.


“So you sold Gijs off to the shamans, Lucy-oneesama?”

“Yes. That’s right, Isabella-chan. This is revenge. Aside from my mother’s death, I’ll also take revenge on those who celebrated Gijs’s birth. And if Gijs dies, than the position of the next head of the family will be returned to me. Then your brother Trevor can marry into my family. Father likes Trevor, so he’ll get a precious son in exchange for losing Gijs. So you can die in peace, Isabella-chan,” Lucy-oneesama said with a warped smile while I looked up at her from inside the barrel.

After following Lucy-oneesama, a cursed tool which sealed my magic and freedom was forced on me and I was brought here. Or so I’d like to say, but since it was Lucy-oneesama, I just put on the cursed tools on my hands and neck like she told me to without being especially wary……

I was taken to some ruins that might have originally been a moderately large church or monastery.

Then, a person with a deep hood appeared, and a person with a mask, and a person hiding their eyes behind a transparent cloth…… So basically they were all hiding their faces. Although hiding their faces didn’t make any sense to me. Appraisal revealed that they were all shamans.

So I figured this was probably one of the shaman’s production hideouts.

They took me down into the damp ruins, where moss was growing on the stone, to a magic circle with barrels lined up on top.

There were cursed ritual markings densely written on the surface of the tightly sealed barrels, and on top were bundles of sage and bone crosses. ……There’s probably not wine inside.

Obviously I didn’t have the courage to check the inside with 《Lust》 so I used 《The Greed King》 and it seems like my judgement wasn’t wrong.

I won’t give you the details of the appraisal results, but what the shamans are doing is disgusting.

The men with hidden eyes held me and put me in one of the unused barrels lined up.

When I asked Lucy-oneesama what her goal was, she told me the story from before.

“So could it be that you were procrastinating the wedding until after Gijs died so Trevor-oniisama would marry into your family instead?”

“That’s right. For a bit, I was just waiting to see what happened. Because if Gijs didn’t have any talent in magic or magical power, then I would become the next head, you see? But that was no good. Gijs has magical talent.”

I understand. A formal wait and see.

Honestly, I thought that since Trevor-oniisama‘s marriage was getting postponed due to scheduling issues, then Daemon-oniisama should just marry Maureen-oneesama without worrying about it, but I didn’t know there were circumstances like this behind it.

If Trevor-oniisama married into her family, then Daemon-oniisama would be the next Duke Rottenstein and Maureen-oneesama would be the next duchess. So until the next head of the Torrend family was clearly stated, then none of them could marry.

Someone could have told me. About the truth of my brothers’ marriages……

Well, they probably didn’t tell me because normal seven-year-old children wouldn’t be able to understand such deep circumstances. I felt like a child kept out of the loop. Even though I remember my past life~.

Well, now I know Lucy-oneesama‘s circumstances. So I no longer had any reason to quietly stay in this barrel. I had no reason to become a curse material.

“Lucy-oneesama, I can’t help but understand your pain and sadness, but I don’t feel like going along with this and dying here.”

“Hehe, your feelings don’t matter, Isabella-chan. You’re the one who got in the way by making Gijs’s kidnapping a failure and dragging the existence of the shaman organization into the spotlight. And your fiancée keeps sniffing around us. Don’t worry, I’ll make sure that both of your souls are used together in the same cursed tool. That way you two will be together forever.”

Wasn’t that a roundabout way to say she was going to kill Ursch-kun too and use him as a curse material?

The second I understood that, everything I felt towards Lucy-oneesama and this situation faded.

“……I said I sympathized with you a little before, but now that’s all gone. The moment you declared you were going to harm Ursch-kun, you’re no longer my family, you’re my enemy.”

“Aw, too bad…… Even now, I still consider you my cute little sister. But no matter how angry you are, you can’t leave here, so there’s nothing you can do, Isabella-chan. And your fiancée, ‘Ursch-kun’? That child will die here too, lined up in these barrels.”

“Do not refer to my fiancée so casually. And you think I can’t leave here?”

Thinking that this level of cursed tools could seal me was a seriously huge mistake. The only way to seal my medium-sized earth dragon level of power would be to use an item made by Ursch-kun!! If it’s not a metallic and magic stone item synthesized by Ursch-kun, then it is but a cookie compared to my grip strength!!

I crushed the cursed tool around my neck from the force of my bare hands and hit the barrel from the inside.

Lucy guarded against the debris from the barrel that shattered like an explosion, her eyes widening in astonishment.

“No way!! There was an advanced strengthening technique used on that barrel!!”

Huh? This barrel had some sort of technique? It broke like normal, though.

But I had more I needed to break.

I pointed my index finger towards the ceiling. This was something I always wanted to do since reincarnating in a world where I could use magic.

Lightning!!

That night, many were witness to a large pillar of lightning followed by a thunderous noise striking the edge of the royal capital.


Next Chapter

10 thoughts on “The Villainess Wants to Marry a Commoner!! Volume 2 Chapter 4

  1. Whoaaaaa!!!! This chapter so OP! I repeatedly pause my reading coz laughing so hard😹. The Isabella attic, death will.. I can’t…xD

    And then, come the bomb about nee-san. When I got serious, Isabella broke it hard and make me laugh again. Lololol

    Thank you for your hardwork misswesna!!

    Liked by 6 people

  2. Lololol
    She sure does clean up in a messy way lol
    Also.. Her poor oldest brother. Lost a fiancé. Would take even longer for the second brother to marry xD

    Many thanks

    Liked by 2 people

  3. LMAO Isabella you’re too OP. I was worried for a bit when Lucy took you but it was for naught. I was going to hope Ursch would have to save her for fluff, but its not needed. They’ll supply that fluff the moment when they meet again!

    Thanks for the chapter Misswesna!! I really enjoy this story

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment